If you face domestic violence charges, you need legal advice from Domestic Violence Attorneys in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The legal team of John Engman & Associates can help you face these charges. Contact us today so we can get started on reviewing your case. You do not want to hesitate in calling. The sooner you have an experienced lawyer on your side, the better your defense will be.
Domestic violence can result from a heated situation that quickly spirals into something much worse. West Michigan Prosecutors take a firm stance against domestic violence offenders and push for the harshest penalties. They take these charges very seriously.
When you face a domestic violence charge, you have much to lose. You can lose your family’s respect, friends, and coworkers. You can lose employment opportunities. You can even land in jail.
Unfortunately, we see cases where a person gets falsely accused. For example, someone may get upset and contact the police to say they were battered, assaulted, or even threatened by someone they are currently in a relationship with or perhaps a past relationship. As a result, the police can arrest the accused person.
If this has happened to you, a family member, or a friend, protect yourself by calling John Engman & Associates. You want leading West Michigan Domestic Violence Attorneys in Grand Rapids, Michigan, on your side as soon as possible.
Michigan Domestic Violence Laws
Michigan Law regards domestic violence as abusive behavior, including physical abuse, sexual abuse, and any action used to control or dominate another person. Being married, used to be married, dating, having children together, and residing in the same house (past and present) are all considered domestic relationships.
Behavior that can lead to domestic violence charges include:
- Shoving & pushing
- Punching, slapping, kicking, choking, biting
- Forced sex, marital rape, sexual abuse
- Battery, assault
- Stalking, threatening behavior
It is common for us to hear that the victim did not want to pursue charges for their case, which is typical for abusive relationships. Sometimes, the abuser will pressure the victim to drop the charges against them. In many cases, the victim has come to think of the abuse as normal.
Grand Rapids prosecutors will work hard in these circumstances to get the abuser to plead guilty; they know the victim is a no-show in court, and a wife or husband will not testify against the defendant. It’s crucial not to cave into this pressure; our legal staff knows how to handle these situations. We will protect you from overeager attorneys and prosecutors.
Our law office knows that our client isn’t guilty in many of the cases we see. We have witnessed instances where a victim has made up a story to exact revenge against the defendant. When this happens, the attorneys at John Engman will fight to prove your innocence, get a dismissal on your case, or get a verdict of “not guilty.”
First-time domestic violence offenders will serve a 93-day jail sentence if convicted. However, we have yet to have any of our clients spend that many days behind bars. Contact Domestic Violence Attorneys Grand Rapids, Michigan today.
Second Offense for Domestic Violence
Second-offense domestic violence penalties are much tougher – 1 year of jail and fines as much as $1,000.
The Michigan Domestic Violence Second Offense Statue reads:
“An individual who commits an assault or an assault and battery in violation of subsection (2), and who has previously been convicted of assaulting or assaulting and battering his or her spouse, and individual with whom he or she has or has had a dating relationship, an individual with whom he or she has had a child in common, or a resident or former resident of his or her household, under any of the following, may be punished by imprisonment for not more than 1 year or a fine of not more than $1,000.00 or both….”
Anyone charged with a second offense for domestic violence is not eligible for the deferral deal under MCL 769.4a:
“[t]here shall be only 1 discharge and dismissal under this section with respect to any individual. Meaning you can only get the deferral once in your lifetime.
If you have pled guilty or get found guilty of a domestic violence charge and never got the deferral, it gets determined that you have a prior “assaultive crime” conviction.
There is no statute of limitations for a past conviction getting used against you when charged for a second offense. Therefore, you can still receive a second offense even if the first conviction was more than twenty years ago.
If convicted of a second offense charge, it is still a misdemeanor; however, the jail time gets increased to one year spent in jail and fines as much as $1,000. In addition, you may get ordered to do “work release” – you can go to school or work but have to spend the nights and weekends in jail.
Domestic Violence Felony Charges
Facing felony charges for domestic violence is an immensely serious and complex situation that demands immediate action. If you find yourself in this challenging position, it is crucial to reach out to the seasoned professionals at Domestic Violence Attorneys in Grand Rapids, Michigan, without delay. Felony domestic violence charges can have severe consequences, impacting various aspects of your life, including legal, personal, and professional.
Trusting the expertise of dedicated domestic violence attorneys at John Engman & Associates, P.C. is paramount in navigating the intricate legal landscape associated with felony charges. Attempting to face these charges alone can be overwhelming and may result in unfavorable outcomes. The experienced team in Grand Rapids, Michigan, is well-versed in the nuances of domestic violence cases and will work tirelessly to build a robust defense strategy tailored to your specific circumstances. Don’t underestimate the gravity of felony domestic violence charges—enlist the support of trusted legal professionals who can guide you through every step of the process and advocate for your rights.
Aggravated Domestic Violence
Aggravated domestic violence charges escalate when the victim sustains severe injuries necessitating medical attention. The severity of the situation further intensifies if a weapon is involved, leading to potential reclassification of charges to felonious assault. In instances of aggravated domestic assault, the legal consequences are grave. A conviction may result in a one-year prison sentence and fines of up to $1,000, possibly both.
For individuals facing a second offense, the stakes increase significantly, with the possibility of a two-year jail term and fines reaching $2,500, and perhaps both. The repercussions of aggravated domestic violence charges extend beyond the legal realm, impacting various facets of one’s life. It is crucial to enlist the support of experienced legal professionals specializing in domestic violence cases to navigate the complexities of the legal process and construct a robust defense tailored to the unique circumstances of each case.
Grand Rapids Domestic Violence Attorneys
Domestic violence charges are serious charges, and you need to protect yourself by contacting the best Domestic Violence Attorneys in Grand Rapids, Michigan. We will listen to your story, and our legal team will create the best defense strategy we can for you.
We are here to help our victims get the help they need to protect themselves, including PPOs – personal protection orders. So don’t hesitate to make that call; your case is urgent and serious. Call John Engman & Associates today.
Our Domestic Violence Defense attorneys will fight hard to protect your freedom, reputation, and future. To request a consultation with one of our Domestic Violence Defense attorneys in Grand Rapids, MI, call John Engman & Associates, P.C. at (616) 454-5222.